Uh, what have I done?

So about 8 weeks before the twins’ 1st birthday, H and I decided that we wanted their baby books done for all to see at the birthday party. We proceeded to spend a LOT of money and a ton of time putting together their books. We scrapbooked them, cutting out paper, using stickers, etc… and I’m so proud of the end result. Even H loved doing it. Thankfully, we were in a position at the time to afford to put it all together.

Now, we’re broke. It’s temporary, but frustrating, especially as one of my friends is getting married and we can’t really afford to buy her and her fiance anything as a wedding gift. Since we aren’t attending the wedding (it’s in Hawaii), I wanted to do something special for her. So I offered to put together a scrapbook for her of all her bridal shower photos, wedding candids, and honeymoon photos (the PG ONES). I told her she just needed to buy the materials, and my gift would be my time. It sounds cheesy, but she loved the idea, because she was actually going to pay someone else to do the work.

Well, my boss got married New Year’s Eve 2006, and she still doesn’t have her book put together. Now she wants me to do her book for her. It’s sort of hard to say no to your boss, especially when she’s a friend, too. And we’re in the middle of repairing both our working and non-working relationships (long story, and really only interesting to a few people so I won’t bore you) so I feel like it’s a good gesture also. She offered to pay me, I refused, and the truth is she’ll probably find some way to compensate me for my time.

But now I’m realizing that two projects like that are going to be a LOT of work. Luckily, the time should be my only cost, and I’m hoping I can try and be as disciplined as I was about the kids’ books and get them done rather quickly. But I’m sort of freaking out about it. I’d like to get started on my the one for my boss ASAP because my other friend gets married in 2 weeks and I should be able to make some serious headway in that time.

But the other interesting effect of all of this is I may have found a way to make some extra money. I never imagined that people would HIRE someone to put together a scrapbook. I always thought it was something people wanted to do for themselves – it just seems so personal. But I’m thinking it might be worth exploring, and maybe a free ad on craigslist once I’m done with these two books. Who knows, maybe I’ll scrapbook my way to working from home! (Somehow, I don’t think so, but it’s a nice thought, huh?)

4 thoughts on “Uh, what have I done?

  1. I think that sounds great… My mom is making our baby one. I have ZERO desire to create one myself. I’d rather just create a website!! LOL But I think if you find people like me who’d like a book, but don’t want to make one… you could make some extra $$ for sure!

  2. Just one question for you!

    Wanna do Ben and Caitlin’s scrapbooks?

    J/k

    I think it’s awesome you do that!! Someday I’m going to do it when they are older and really enjoy looking back at the memories!

    Just popping in to say hi!

    I really like your site!

    Jen

Leave a Reply

