When it rains…

So I’m coming up on my last two days at my old job. I’m gearing myself up psychologically to leave some very good friends and start a new adventure. I’ve packed up most of my personal items (pretty much all pictures of the kids) and brought them home.

Today, I go out to the mailbox. And in the mail is an envelope inviting me to take a pre-employment test that I applied for almost two months ago with the State.

Are you kidding me? Seriously. I figured I hadn’t heard by now so I was just in the “thanks but no thanks” pile. Now, thoughts of a State job, with the benefits and retirement are running through my head.

So, here’s the plan. I’m going to take the test (it’s on a Saturday) and just see what happens. If I don’t get called for an interview, I already have a new job and it was just a good experience. Anything else, we’ll deal with as it comes up. The State job pays more than my old job did BEFORE they cut our pay 10%, and State benefits are unbeatable, except maybe by teachers. It would be stupid to pass up a State job just because the timing wasn’t ideal.

I did say today I wish I had known I was taking the test two weeks ago. I probably would have stayed put. Not that I think I’m a lock for a State job, but I don’t like the bouncing around thing. The thing is, the State jobs this test is hiring for is much more in the same realm of what I’ve been doing for the last 7 years, just on a more global level.

Test in two weeks. When it rains it pours.

One thought on “When it rains…

Leave a Reply

