Bored

I don’t do well when bored. I think it’s why I watch tv. Who can be bored when you are watching McDreamy and Meredith gaze at each other like that? I can watch tv and surf the ‘net. Anyway, there’s got to be something going on. Otherwise I tune out. Having twins compounded things in that respect — there’s NEVER down time unless they are sleeping. But the constant “go” nature of having twins fed my need for constant activity.

I’ve always been like this. I was the kid who had so many activities outside of school people wondered how I did homework. I worked three jobs through college and kept my coaching position after I graduated when I took my first “real” job. Every time I get bored at a job, I ask for more to learn, to do, to take on. I’ve never had a job that didn’t offer me a lot of opportunity to learn new things and take on new responsibilities.

Until now. Now I’m bored out of my skull. I don’t mean the kind of “hey give me something else to do” bored. It’s the “hey it took me 2 1/2 minutes to do that new thing you gave me to do” kind of bored. It makes me tired. It frustrates me. And it doesn’t help that Other Job I interviewed for won’t come through with an answer for another week or so.

I took this job looking for less stress and more stability. I clearly got that. But I think it went too far. I went from mach 10 to granny in the slow lane. I’m a week and a half ahead on my work, and the new stuff that comes in that’s “urgent” gets done in 30 minutes, an hour if I check my email.

Sure I have things to do – filing emails, following up on confirmations. But I’m bored. Bored bored bored. And if I don’t get Other Job, I think I’m going to have to cut my losses and look for something in the middle of the stress spectrum. The best comparison I can make is – think back to high school. Remember those classes where all you did was worksheets all day? Math, vocabulary, science terms — worksheets. You lived for those classes because you could use the leftover 40 minutes of class to work on the essay questions and critical thinking assignments you had from your real classes. The ones that made you think so much it hurt. Right now, I’m in the class with the worksheets.

I’m looking for one with essay questions.

Leave a Reply

