So What Does This Mean?*

Yesterday afternoon while I was preparing to shut down my computer, my cell phone rang. Well, technically, it vibrated. Anyway, since I don’t generally like to answer my cell phone at work unless it’s super-important, I checked the number and let it go to voicemail. I didn’t recognize the number anyway.

And then it hit me. The prefix on the number. It was a State number. As in, about the job maybe? I’d gotten another interest letter and sent that in for a similar position in the same department – maybe I had another interview?

Shaking, I shut down my computer and hit “1” on my phone to dial my voicemail. Yes – it was the State, but they needed my authority to check my references. Reference checking?! That’s usually a good sign, right?

So I called the guy back, and said that they absolutely had authority and where exactly did this put us in the process?In his words, they only check references of people they intend to make offers to. And provided my references check out, I should be hearing from them soon.

In Heidi’s words – Merry F*cking Christmas. Holy crap. Are you kidding me? Let me tell you, the financial aspects of this job are unreal – starting salary almost $10,000 more a year than I make now, plus benefits and retirement that are pretty much unbeatable unless you are a teacher.I told her not to count her chickens yet.

But this might really happen. Keep your fingers crossed. It’s a good program within the State, one that makes our cities and towns better. And a good thing to be a part of. And I’d be proud to tell my children what I do. And proud that the money I help support them with comes from doing something to make our world a little bit better.Keep your fingers crossed.

*Extra points if you know the reference. I’ll give you a hint – it’s from a TV show.

3 thoughts on “So What Does This Mean?*

Leave a Reply

