The daycare chronicles

I know I’ve been remiss in posting. Work is literally insane, and between illness and the kids starting daycare, well, it was all I could do to get excited about the writer’s strike being over, much less find the muster to create a coherent post.

Daycare is going fairly well so far. The kids seem to really like Maria, and she seems to adore them. J sings songs in Spanish she’s learned and Maria tells me how smart she is. N is learning all kinds of new words, in Spanish and English, and loves playing there.

My favorite part of the day is standing outside the door after I’ve knocked at pick-up time and hearing them both scream “MOMMY!!!”

Of course, they both have colds. Which is to be expected I suppose. Maria has three of her own kids, from 13 months to 4 years old, and there are two other kids there, 2 years old and 5 months old. J loves to play with Maria’s 13 month-old, because I think she likes to play little momma to him. In the car on the way there this morning, she said, “Yay!!! Baby C!!!”

I had a really hard time with the first few days. I cried leaving them, especially because J was SCREAMING “Mommy” at the top of her lungs and I could hear her as we got in the car. I felt like I’d abandoned them with a stranger. It has gotten easier, and I think we’re finally settling into a morning routine of me getting ready for work while H gets the kids ready and I drop them off on my way to the office.

I have some things I’d like to write about, but J is pretty sick. Almost every cold results in some sort of projectile vomiting episode because she will find a night where she won’t eat, and of course mixing milk and mucus is not exactly a thrilling combination. So we are hoping to fend that off but she’s acting “that way” tonight.

Hope all is well with my 2 1/2 readers. I am on Twi.tter too now, under the name twinmomma.

2 thoughts on “The daycare chronicles

  1. I read your nanny post and this post, and I just want to tell you that from one mom to another – I totally understand! And I wasn’t able to blog about most of our issues, as my son’s caregivers knew about my blog.

    I was hoping to get my son to age 2 prior to having to do a more traditional daycare, but we ended up making the switch just a few weeks ago (he was just under 17-months-old).

    Luckily, although crying has been involved (from him, too! 😉 ), it appears that he is adjusting well and enjoying it. I hope all continues to go well with your little ones.

    Take care!

Leave a Reply

