What Prop 8 Has Taught Me

Prop 8 brought out the best and the worst in this state. But personally, Prop 8 taught me that I have an amazing network of people out there who believe in my family and families like mine. From people I see every day, to people I talk to once a year, to people I’ve reconnected with on Face.book, I’ve discovered a wider network of love and support than I ever though possible.

I really wanted to be glib and bitter in this post, but I realized this morning that it won’t get us any closer to our goal as a community. The thing is, I love my family, I adore my friends, and I wouldn’t trade any of them for anything. Wherever they are, is where I’m supposed to be.

I thought about whether or not we should look at moving to Massachusetts, but the reality is, California is our home. It’s where I grew up, and it’s where our support network is. Taking the kids away from their Aunties, their Nana, their Nana D, Uncle J, and everyone else out there who loves them would not only be detrimental to them, but it lets the bigots win. And I’m not ready to go there yet.

I came to a funny realization yesterday. If you assume that people voting for Prop 8 would really rather have gay people not around them, and recognize that the result of Prop 8 is that gay people in California are now relegated back to only domestic partnership, and that domestic partnership is not transferrable to other states, then the Yes on 8 people pretty much solidified that gay couples in committed relationships in California HAVE TO STAY HERE to keep their rights. I wonder if that was in the literature they passed out in church last Sunday.

Because of Prop 8, I have new friends, rekindled old friendships, and taught my children how to stand up for something they believe in. In their lifetime, I trust the tide will truly turn.

4 thoughts on “What Prop 8 Has Taught Me

  1. Jenn,
    We aren’t sure. Supposedly the Attorney General of CA is saying they will stand, but the verbiage of the Proposition is such that it is very much in question.

    We wait and we hope.

  2. Thank you for this lovely post. I do believe our community is stronger because of this struggle and I KNOW that history is on our side. Being a relative newcomer to California, this battle has really strengthened my relationships here. I feel more committed to being here and I love those with whom I have been working in a way that wouldn’t have been possible if we hadn’t been fighting Prop 8.

  3. What a great post. We began to have similar thoughts today. Why are we going to let a group of ignorant bigots chase us out of our Home?? I LOVE what you said about wondering if the Yes on 8 people realize that they’re just keeping us here. Classic, and true. I wish we were all in Los Angeles tonight to be marching with the thousands who are now. Thank you for a wonderful post 🙂 Lots of Love

Leave a Reply

