Public Transit Virgin

I’ve lived here for 10 1/2 years and managed NEVER to utilize public transit. If you know me in real life, you know I’m a control freak who has to have a car with me whenever I go anywhere. We could be a bunch of friends meeting for dinner, I’ll be the one driving. Going out to the club? I’ll be the DD. Headed to a friend’s for a party? I’ll drive, thankyouverymuch. It’s my escape route. It’s my “I don’t have to wait for someone else to decide to leave” control over the situation.
When we moved the last time, we discovered a little community shuttle filled with State workers. During the summer, there was major freeway work going on, so I gave it a shot. It was great. Cheap ($1 each way) and stopped 3 blocks from my office. Everyone was friendly and I got home at a reasonable hour, so why not? Not only that, but I was able to relinquish my $90/month parking pass and save gas at a time when gas was creeping to $5/gallon.
So when we had to move again, shocker of shockers, one of our requirements was availability of a transit option for me. Now, let me be clear, this little community shuttle I was taking could NOT qualify as “public transit.” You had to live or work within some very clear boundaries in order to ride, and the entire bus held about 25 people. This new house is within 5 minutes of a commuter train. So this morning, I got up, headed to the train stop (in my car, but it’s a 30 second ride and a free parking lot – I’m not walking 20 minutes in the dark just to prove a point thank you).
Anyway, I was at work by 7:15am, and was super impressed regarding the cleanliness and promptness of the train and the bus that I took from the train stop to my office. And I didn’t have to deal with traffic, parking, or whether or not there was gas in the car.
Pretty cool.

One thought on “Public Transit Virgin

Leave a Reply

