Exhausted

Well, I scrambled home from work and I said a quick “hi” and “goodbye” to the kids as Kristen and I loaded up the baked goodies in the car and went about our deliveries before heading to our friends’ house to wrap gifts.

Traffic was insane, so it was almost an hour and a half before we ended up across town to eat some drive-through and get started. Amazingly, once we started wrapping, it didn’t take long. Unfortunately, our friends couldn’t find their hammer, so I couldn’t put together Rochelle’s Big Wheel bike. But given how busy tomorrow will be, I didn’t want to leave it until tomorrow night.  So as soon as we got home, I put it together. Well, I swore at it a lot, and put it together.

I can’t believe Christmas is here. I swear just yesterday the twins were turning 2. Heck, I swear just yesterday, they were born. I feel like so much has happened this year, that I’m tired just thinking about it.

We got a puppy.
Our nephew was born.
Kristen got laid off. Twice.
The twins started daycare, losing their nanny who had taken care of them from 4 months old.
The twins got pulled from daycare when our nanny became available again and when the twins started repeating things that we know we had never said in front of them.
My grandfather died.
We moved. Twice.

It feels like a lot more than it looks like. I’m very much looking forward to some joy tomorrow and Thursday. I know I have so much to be thankful for, so many blessings in my life. I spent some time today listening to Dean Baker’s sermon from this past Sunday.  He talks about being so busy, and so scared, that sometimes we forget or can’t hear God calling to us. For me, these next few days are about basking in my family, the love of them, the love of my friends, and opening myself to the lessons I need to learn. And listening.

I’m sleepy, and it’s late, and I’m headed to bed. I’m not sure if I’ll be blogging until maybe late Thursday, so Merry Christmas and Happy Hanukkah. I hope that all of your wishes come true, and that you and your loved ones are safe, healthy, and happy this holiday.

Leave a Reply

