Joy

My sweet friend over at Planting a Pumpkin Patch presented me with this Hope Award. Lady Pumpkin found her way to my blog not long ago and we’ve become fast friends, and I am constantly in awe of her grace and humor in navigating the IF waters. I’ve been humbled by her outpouring of friendship and support.

So the way this Hope Award works, is the awardee writes about something that makes her (or him) happy, and something they hope for in the future. Then nominate three other deserving bloggers. It’s a great opportunity to rejoice in the things that are positive in our lives.

Some things that make me happy right now. The way N says “I love you SO SO so much” even when it’s the 15th time I’ve trekked up the stairs for an after bedtime call from him. The way J still wraps herself around me like a little chimpanzee when she needs comforting. The way N leans into me on the couch in the mornings of my days off while we watch PBS kids. The way J snuggles with me when she comes to my bed in the middle of the night. Book time.

Something I hope for the future. Easy. That my children always know how loved and wanted they are, and for them to always know that no matter what comes their way, they can always count on me to have my arms open and an ear for their hopes and dreams and fears.

Recently things have been strikingly normal. Work. Kids. Finding time to spend with H while working opposing schedules. Planning vacations. Spending time with friends. It’s been nice. I love this time of year. The weather is perfect for eating outside or going to the park or just opening the windows and shaking the dust out of the house.

It’s easy to close the windows and sit in the dark, and it can be the right thing to do sometimes. I do it. Maybe too often. Happiness and hope. They are the light that fills the darkness.

I nominate the following three amazing women for the Hope Award. Three women who I think incredibly highly of, and believe they deserve all the happiness and hope in the world.

1) Mamazen
2) Lori
3) Michelle

3 thoughts on “Joy

Leave a Reply

