Day 2 – 30 Days of Truth

Day #2 – Something I Love About Myself

I am an intensely passionate person.

When I believe in something, it’s never halfway. I will passionately champion a person, a cause, a belief, without apology. You have seen some of this in action here, with things such as my post on the “R” word. We have a friend who is the polar opposite of me politically, and he will say things just to get my hair to go up on the back of my neck. When a blog post attacks the heart of something I believe in or the heart of who I am, whoever is in the room with me when I reply can tell by the way I type my reply or comment. Sometimes I’m surprised the keys on my laptop still have the letters on them. I wear my causes out loud.

I love my people passionately. My family, my friends. I don’t care for anyone in my life at less than full throttle. I am intensely protective of my people. Do what you want to me, say what you want about me, but don’t you dare say or do anything to or about those I care about. This passion has opened me up for a lot of friendship-related pain, because I’ve often ended up more invested than the other person. As a result, my circle of people is small.

I am passionate about being the most authentic person I can be. About living up to my expectations of myself. I need to be in a job with an organization whose mission I believe in. I need to know that I’ve given 100% of myself to whatever I do. And if I can’t do something 100%, or believe I can’t, I don’t want to do it.

I love my passion. I love that I can watch a football game on tv and scream “GO GO GO GO” and mean it. I love that I will reach out and pull a friend close when even they don’t realize they need it. I love that I care so much. I love that things MEAN something to me, that I cry tears of happiness watching my children experience new things.

I have spent a long time trying to quell the passionate side of me. To hide it away because it’s “too much” for some people. But I’ve learned that I’d rather have my children see me crying, rather love one person who gets me, have one friend who understands, make minimum wage at a job that matters, than be anything less than myself.

5 thoughts on “Day 2 – 30 Days of Truth

  1. Please clear the room of all children or sensitive people:
    Fuck that was awesome! Really out there and raw. Your circle’s lucky to have you and know passionate about your friends and family you are. Never change my friend 🙂

  2. LOVE this post. LOVE you. LOVE this kind of passion. YES YES YES.
    Passion is what fuels life. And that other blog post? made me want to punch a bitch.

Leave a Reply

