A Chef I’m Not

I know. I’m in the middle of the 30 days stuff, but I’m stuck on the one I’m supposed to be writing. I haven’t posted much of anything in over a week, and part of me feels like I just don’t have much to say right now. I feel…..like words aren’t cutting it these days.

But, I thought, I have some great readers out there, many of whom have become friends, and why not propose a little sharing among friends?

So here’s the deal. I am not the cook in this house. FAR from it. My wife is the chef. She’s the one who can make something from the nothing I see in the refrigerator. I grew up on steak and potatoes and my mom NEVER taught me how to cook. Ever. If I can make it in the microwave, I’m on it. But anything beyond that and I’m all thumbs.

On top of that, the kids are super picky these days, and with H working nights, it is such a waste making something that the kids won’t even eat. So we have been doing a lot of spaghetti, macaroni and cheese, etc… Often H will put something in the crockpot in the morning and all I have to do is make sides. That’s easy.

So, here’s the thought. Share a recipe, any kind of recipe. The only requirement is that it doesn’t require the skills of an Iron Chef in order to prepare it. Other than that, share away. They don’t even have to be original. Just something you like that works in your house.

The one I have is SO easy. I did a baked chicken recipe using ranch dressing and bread crumbs.

1/2 cup ranch dressing
Bread crumbs
Boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Coat the chicken breasts in the ranch dressing, then coat them with the breadcrumbs.

Bake at 400 on a cookie sheet until done, about 25 minutes (I just use a meat thermometer).

Your turn.

3 thoughts on “A Chef I’m Not

  1. You know, I really want to be helpful, but I don’t cook much either. I bake, sure, but that’s no way to nourish growing kidlets. At least not on its own. N is the savory master, but really, we mostly do takeout. How about a resource? You’re probably familiar with it, but we’re big into epicurious.com. You can filter recipes by ingredient, quick-and-easy, etc. Really my go-to site when I want to make something new. xoxo

  2. FUN! My last minute go to dinner is Taco soup (tortilla soup, Mexican soup… whatever)

    You will need:
    1 can corn
    1 can mild rotel
    2 cans black beans
    1 can kidney beans
    1 box (or large can of chicken stock)
    1/2 packet of dry original ranch dressing mix
    1/2 packet of taco seasoning
    1lb ground turkey or beef
    sour cream
    shredded cheese
    corn chips

    You will need to:
    Brown meet (like you are making tacos).
    once it is cooked add in ALL the other ingredients,
    Stir, bring to a boil then lower to a simmer.
    cook for about 20 min. (you can simmer up to an hour or more so it is perfect for those unpredictable evenings)

    Serve:
    Serve with sour cream, cheese, cilantro, and/or corn chips (yummy with them broken up into the soup)

    EASIEST DINNER EVER!

  3. Mock eggplant parmesan:
    Drizzle olive oil on cookie sheet.
    Slice eggplant into rounds about 1/2 inch thick. Place on cookie sheet. Sprinkle olive oil on top. (if you have Pam or a Olive Oil Misto–my favorite kitchen gadget, even better.) Sprinkle bread crumbs, basil, oregano, garlic salt on top.
    Bake about 10 min. Pour pasta sauce on top & Parmesan cheese. Bake another 10 or so minutes. Eat with pasta.

Leave a Reply

