Gut Check

So I’ve been spending a bunch of time making stuff that people have asked for. And every time someone says a baby is coming I sit down to plan out what I’m going to make for them. I’ve got a list of things that I still need to make for people, and I’ve been studying up on my knitting so that when this list is done I can really focus on becoming proficient at it.

I had started a little project for a baby gift that I wasn’t happy with so I unraveled the last few rows and was going to chuck what was left of it. J picked it up and and it happened to be the perfect size to be a little wrist warmer for her. I cleaned it up and hid the ends so it looked like it was a finished product instead of half of something else. Then she said she wanted another one for the other side. So I made one up for her.

N came over and said, “When are you going to make ME something.” Pow. Gut check. I’ve been so busy making things for other people I haven’t stopped to make much for my kiddos. So I said “Buddy I’m going to make you a hat, what colors do you want?” He said red and grey.

So everything is on hold until I finish N’s hat. If that means stuff for other people takes longer than I anticipated, so be it.

I sat down to start making his hat and he sat up next to me. He has this new thing every night where he wants to sit with me and watch tv or watch me blog or read or whatever is going on that night. And he sits and puts his arm around me or puts his hand on my leg and leans on my shoulder. Tonight he squeezed as close to me as he could and said “I can’t wait for my beanie hat.” I leaned in and kissed his forehead.

Kids are good at giving you gut checks. Usually right when you need them.

Thanks, buddy. I love you.

One thought on “Gut Check

  1. kids are definitely good at gut checks…helping us keep our priorities in order.

    we’ve done the same thing with knitting – made several blankets for others, and none for our own kids. oh, the shame 😦

Leave a Reply

