Christmas Eve

Merry Christmas.

I know I’ve been rather absent around here. I’m not quite sure what happened, other than after the daily posting of NaBloPoMo and then the continual illness fighting, blogging sort of fell to the bottom of the list.

But I’m still here. It’s been a busy few weeks, with planning for Christmas and all that goes with it. I’m sick again, but it’s starting to become the norm rather than the exception so I’m just learning to live with it this season.

The kids learned about Hanukkah at school and when I told them I celebrated Hanukkah as a child (my mom is Jewish) they were intrigued and wanted to do it too. So we went to the dollar bins at Target for some gifts and a menorah (mine is here somewhere) and candles and away we went. I didn’t anticipate how emotional I would be about sharing this little piece of who I am with my kids. Of course they think it’s all about the presents, but I’m trying to teach them the story behind it. And yes, we have a menorah lit in the glow of the Christmas tree, but that’s how I grew up so it doesn’t seem weird to me. And really, why do they have to be separate? The story of Hanukkah is one of miracles, one of persevering in the face of persecution, and who can’t take delight in that?

My brother and sister in law spent five days here last week, along with their sons, 3 1/2 year old C and 3 month old D. It was fun, and I took a day off so we could all spend the day together and we took the kids bowling and my sister in law and I even snuck off for a pedicure – an indulgence I haven’t gotten in a really long time.

Tonight we will go to church and have our traditional dinner at our friends’ house. Tomorrow morning we will open presents and have breakfast, and then H has to work. I’m actually looking forward to just sitting in my pajamas and putting toys together and knitting all day. I’m off Monday, but that will probably be a laundry filled day. It’s a low key Christmas this year and I’m more than thrilled that’s the case.

I hope all of your holidays are filled with joy and whatever you most hoped for. As promised, here are some pictures of our holiday photo shoot. Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, and may all your days be bright.

3 thoughts on “Christmas Eve

  1. Merry, Merry Christmas! We love you and miss you. For a while there, we were coming up a lot to visit J’s grandpa….I’m going through withdrawls from your family. We loved your card by the way. :o)

Leave a Reply

