11 Random Things

My friend Andi at Bringing the Sunshine posted this blog meme and tagged me to participate. It looked like fun until it asked me to tag 11 people to keep it going. So. Here goes.

The Rules
1) Post these rules.
2) Post 11 random things about yourself.
3) Answer the questions set for you in the post of those who tagged you.
4) Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
5) Go to their blog (or email them or tweet them) and tell the people you tagged that you’ve tagged them.
6) No stuff in the tagging section about “you are tagged if you are reading this.” You legitimately have to tag 11 people.

11 Random Things About Me:

1. I spent 5 weeks in Cambridge, England during the summer between my junior and senior year in college. It was a study abroad program and we took two classes. I didn’t need the units, but I wanted some traveling experience since I’d never been anywhere except Washington DC and Hawaii, both with school. It was an amazing experience but I was incredibly homesick. I’d love to go back.

2. I entered college as a theatre major. I’d declared this major when I applied to school, but spent so much of my senior year in high school disgruntled with everyone in my theatre department that I pretty much swore it off and changed my major as soon as I could once I got to college. Looking back I think I was more afraid of failing than I was anything else.

3. I am incredibly sentimental. I am not sentimental in a “Hoarders” kind of way. I just have a hard time letting things like photographs or special mementos go. This means there are a couple (like 3) of boxes in the garage of those things I just can’t part with. They include things like my high school graduation tassel, clippings of things I’ve written that were published, a scrapbook given to me by my students when I was coaching, photos I took in my first photography class, and a copy of “Schindler’s List” signed by the author from when he visited my college campus. The only item I took when my grandfather passed away was a ceramic clown. It has no monetary value. I’ve often thought that when my father is gone the one thing I’d want is his trumpet.

4. I am a clutch-player. I do extremely well in last-minute situations that need fixing. At work if a “drill” comes down from the Governor’s office and we need answers and numbers and an analysis in 30 minutes I’m your girl. Your wedding planner ditched you and the wedding is in two weeks and nothing’s been done? Call me, I’ll make it work. Pictures after work with 15 minutes to get ready? No problem, I’ll whip up outfits and hairstyles and even add a touch of sparkle to make it shine. Unfortunately what I’m telling you is that I do well in the last minute, and I know this. Which also means I have become a pretty decent procrastinator. Which is completely hysterical given number 5. Read on.

5. I hate last minute plans. I like to know what’s going to happen, who’s going to be there, what time we have to be there, who’s driving, what the weather will be, what the contingency plan is, etc… I do NOT do well with plans changing at the last minute or getting a phone call on my way out the door from work that we’re now going to dinner with someone. I sound super fun, huh?

6. I cannot cook. I do pretty well at making sure the kids eat healthy on my nights alone with things like pasta, vegetables, leftovers, etc… Sometimes H will put something in the crock pot for us so all I have to do are sides. The kids like when we make tacos, and that I can do. I make pretty good tortillas (from scratch, yes) and I know how to read recipes and understand cooking conceptually. My execution is awful.

7. I am published. When I was in college, I had a penchant for writing letters to the editor on issues that ticked me off. Some of the topics were things like “no grade no play” in which the debate surrounded making kids have certain grades before being allowed to participate in sports and after school activities. Our hometown is relatively small, and the local paper decided to do a column featuring four community members from various backgrounds on a rotating basis. So once a month, I wrote. I also have a research paper published in a textbook, and a photograph published in an anthology.

8. I don’t drink. I never really have. Most recently it’s been because alcohol is a migraine trigger for me. But over the years it’s been mostly all about childhood issues. I have plenty of fun without it and the migraines aren’t worth it.

9. I get incredibly starstruck. More than once I’ve been close enough to a celebrity (or at least someone who was celebrity enough to me) and been too chicken to go up to them. I did manage a face-to-face with Reba McEntire at a talk show she was on once, and even got her to sing “Happy Birthday” to my friend A at a post-concert group meet and greet. I’ve met a few other local celebrities and athletes, and was helping stage-manage an awards show where some of our local celebrities were dependent upon me to get them to the right place with the right cue cards, which I was ok with. But the idea of going up and introducing myself and asking for an autograph or a photo? Paralyzing.

10. I probably should have gone to beauty school. I worked in two different salons, one while I was in college, and one as a second job after I moved here. I have spent COUNTLESS hours doing other people’s hair. From being the one of the only team members who knew how to French braid when I was on colorguard in high school, to being asked to do my students’ hair for their high school dances, to my own daughter, I love being the one who can do cute or pretty things to people’s hair. With the exception of having to take J to someone for cleanup after she cut her own hair, I have always cut her hair. I have actually looked into beauty school. It’s EXPENSIVE.

11. I have five tattoos. And I’m not done. The next one is intricate though, and I really need to find an artist I trust who can help with the vision.

Answers to Andi’s Questions
1. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be and why?
How much I let fear get in the way. I think there are things I might have done, might have allowed myself to try, but especially as I’ve gotten older fear drives me more than I’d care to admit.

2. Name the song that most motivates you and explain.
I could spend days answering this one question. Right now? There are two.

Brave – Idina Menzel: I’m often scared, and often worry how things will turn out, but this song reminds me that I can stand and take whatever comes my way.

Walking in Memphis – Marc Cohn: This one I have a hard time explaining. For some reason it’s always been one of my all time favorite songs, but it works for me really well when I’m feeling low and I just need to sit in it for a bit before I put on my big girl panties and turn on “Brave.” I crank it as loud as I can stand it and sing.

3. If you could start a new career easily, what would your dream job be?
Photographer

4. What kind of car do you drive and how did you choose it?
A Toyota Tacoma king cab. H wanted a truck. We bought it used and now that gas is $100/gallon I drive the truck because my commute is the shortest. Our other car is a Nissan Altima that’s given us nothing but electrical problems.

5. What did you want to be when you grew up?
A veterinarian. Until I realized vets had to put animals down, that’s when I had to pick something else.

6. What is your favorite film from the past five years?
Did anyone who knows me or reads here think I was going to say anything BUT The Hunger Games (saw it at midnight last night it was AMAZING!) But I was also incredibly awestruck by Temple Grandin. Great story, great movie. The reality is I’m more of a TV buff than a movie one.

7. Coke or Pepsi (or “other”)?
Coke. Although I’m now caffeine free, and caffeine free Coke and Pepsi just don’t do it for me, so I’ve moved on to some of the flavored sodas instead, like Lorina Blood Orange. Yum.

8. What’s the most ambitious item on your bucket list?
I don’t know that any of my bucket list items are particularly “ambitious.” Most of them revolve around travel. I think the most ambitious is probably learn to horseback ride western style well enough to compete in a barrel racing or pole bending event.

9. What is your favorite quote?
“What I need is the dandelion in the spring. The bright yellow that means rebirth instead of destruction. The promise that life can go on, no matter how bad our losses. That it can be good again.” – Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
“Joy is not a constant. It comes to us in moments – often ordinary moments. Sometimes we miss out on the bursts of joy because we’re too busy chasing down extraordinary moments. Other times we’re so afraid of the dark that we don’t dare let ourselves enjoy the light.” – The Gifts of Imperfection by Brene Brown

10. Morning person or night owl?
Used to be a morning person, but I have morphed into a night owl.

11. What is the most difficult thing you’ve ever faced or done?
Deal with infertility. From the struggle to get pregnant the first time to two miscarriages and still struggling. I love my children more than my life and they were worth every struggle we had getting there. I hope we get to give them another sibling to share it all with, and then I’ll be able to say all the struggles the past two years have been worth it, too.

11 Questions
1. Favorite chocolate/candy?
2. What’s set to record on your DVR?
3. One of the defining moments in your life so far?
4. What actor would play you in a movie about your life?
5. What is your favorite piece of jewelry and why?
6. Where would your dream vacation take you?
7. What is your favorite book of all time?
8. What sports team (college or professional) are you a fan of?
9. Would you rather live where it is way too hot or way too cold?
10. Do you have any tattoos? What are they and their meanings?
11. What’s the one thing you splurge on for yourself (not your kids or your spouse – for YOU).

Who I’m tagging:

Lori at It’s Just Life
K at Mamazen
Lady Pumpkin at Planting A Pumpkin Patch
Roccie at Roccie Road
K at Finding Eggs in Camelot
Gus at One Urban Nest
And hoping to bring her out of blog hiding, M over at Mommy J’s Wild Ride.

That’s it. I know, it’s not 11. I’m such a rule breaker.

One thought on “11 Random Things

  1. Oh man I so want to do this but it seems like a ton of work that would need a ton of energy…that I don’t have. hahaha I may come back to it. Don’t give up on me. 😉

Leave a Reply

